Watching Sunsets

I love watching sunsets….for me, my favorite part of the day is when the sun seems to try the best it could to hide beneath the layers of clouds….when it spread its glorious colors upon everything it hits, like a peacock spreading its tail. When I was a child, I often wondered where the sun goes when it leaves, or why everything beneath it turned yellow or why the clouds  looked like pink sugar candy as the sun starts to disappear…..I thought then, that was so magical…until I went to school, and science “spilled the beans”, in the same way that someone spoils the fun of looking forward to Santa’s gifts on Christmas by saying that there is no Santa Claus!

Here are some photos I took of the sunset at a small fisherman’s village, called Canyon Cove.  The scenes just completely brought back to my present, those magical moments I experienced as a child….

..."You see, one loves the sunset when one is so sad...I have seen the sunset 44 times..." Antoine de Saint Exupery, Le Petit Prince

The cove basked in beautiful colors cast by the light reflection from the setting sun.

It certainly feels good walking barefoot on the fine, white sands of Canyon Cove. The play of the light and shadow from the sunset makes the sandy shores of the cove an appealing subject for one's artistic expression.

"The water was glassy and calm, still candy-colored in the afterglow of sunset."....Stephen King

One watches the sunset because it is able to revive that lost sense of magic into our lives…And as one author aptly said it:  “We love to watch the sunset, not only because it is beautiful…but because it is fleeting…”

Post your comment

